Mummy, how do you say “fichead” in English?*

29 Apr

My son, the Monster, asked me this yesterday. I see it as a good sign that his Gaelic is sinking in.  In fact, he can already count to 39 in Gaelic which is more than he can do in English. I think he hears the patterns better, and if he forgets what comes next he can work it out quickly himself.

I wonder if this is something that will happen more and more in the future – that he’ll be picking up brand new ideas and vocabulary in Gaelic, that are taught and explained to him in Gaelic at school so that he will need to ask us for the English separately. I’ve been taught to ask, “ciamar a tha thu ag radh ___ ann an Gaidhlig?” for my course.  Maybe in future I’ll be hearing, “ciamar a tha thu ag radh ___ ann an Beurla?”

*fichead means 20.  (And please excuse any spelling mistakes.)

3 Responses to “Mummy, how do you say “fichead” in English?*”

  1. Domhnall Saunders April 30, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    Madainn Mhath. ‘S math a rinn an Monster! Chaidh na balaich agam fhein tron Ghaidhlig Croileagan, Bun-sgoil agus Ard-sgoil) agus turas neo dha ann an comhradh ann an Beurla, bha iad “stuck” airson facail Beurla.

    • Slummy to Yummy Mummy April 30, 2012 at 8:08 am #

      Lol, that tickles me! I figure it can only be a good thing. (I also hope I’m reading you right…)

  2. Tasha Goddard (WAHM-BAM!) May 9, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    How lovely. What happens when you have no idea what the Gaelic word is, or will that not be an issue? Presumably, you could look it up, if necessary. I remember my parents getting frustrated with not understanding some of the Spanish I had picked up in school when we lived in Valencia.

Leave a Reply

