Am I ready to be a student again?

10 Feb

I’ve finally had word that the course I’ve enrolled on – An Cùrsa Inntrigidh – is about to start.  In fact, I’ve already completed induction task one.  It was challenging but I managed to get through it.  The task?  To log into the university email system and send them a message.  I’m now awaiting my next few tasks.  I get the feeling they’re going to get tougher.

I honestly never thought I’d be enrolled in a university again.  I spent six years studying in my twenties and that was plenty loads, thank you very much.  And yet I’m really excited about this (though in fairness, I haven’t started yet so maybe I’m being a bit premature).  I’m looking forward to learning a new language, to adding to the tiny bit of vocabulary I’ve already picked up, to sharing this education with my children.

But I have to admit to being a little nervous, too.  Not helped by the UHI Student News title: Event to explore why Scots love sex and the supernatural.  Am I going to be just a touch too old (and clearly prudish) for this?  Thank goodness it’s all done over the telephone – I can pretend to be young, hip and glamorous.  Who’s going to know!?

It’s not just the student life though.  I worry about being able to cope with the coursework.  I love languages and have enjoyed the little bit I’ve learned to date, but I have been able to plod along at my own pace.  What if I can’t pronounce the new vocabulary?  What if the other students have more time to prepare than me?  What if the other students are all better than me?

I’ve also got to get over my two big fears – fear of actually speaking Gaelic in public, and fear of using a telephone.  Yes, I have a crippling phone fear yet I’ve signed up to do a course which involves an hour a week on the telephone.  Maybe not the smartest move but what doesn’t kill you and all that…

In the meantime I await my next induction tasks, I cross my fingers that the other students in my tutorial group/phone call are lovely and that my tutor is friendly & supportive, and I keep plugging away with a wee bit of new vocab each week.  This week my son has learned two new phrases:

Gabh mo leisgeul (gav mo layskal) = excuse me

Tha mi duilich (ha me doolich) = I’m sorry.  (An important one to learn after a cheeky day at nursery.)

Now I just need to learn to say, “I don’t understand,” in Gaelic and I’m all set for An Cùrsa Inntrigidh starting in a week.

15 Responses to “Am I ready to be a student again?”

  1. Green-eyed girl February 10, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    That is so exciting! At least you will be able to use your newly learnt Gaelic on your kids too 🙂 The fact that you’re even worried about this means you’ll probably be a great student, even if parts are difficult.

    Apparently “I don’t understand” is Chan eil mi ‘tuigsinn
    To me it sounds like “chan eil mi titchen”

    I hope it goes well, g’un robh math agad! (Good luck!)

    • gaelicmediummum February 10, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Thank you! Coming from someone learning multiple languages, that means a lot. Fingers crossed…

      • Green-eyed girl February 11, 2012 at 5:10 am #

        The first new language is usually the hardest, especially something really different from English like Gaelic is. Well, I’m not sure my Spanish is going to help me anyway, watch me struggle with Gaelic too hehe 🙂

      • gaelicmediummum February 11, 2012 at 9:35 am #

        I got an A in Higher French then did it for a year at uni. I also studied Italian for a year. The difference was that I followed a structured programme several times a week. This time I’ve been doing it alone. I’m hoping that when the course starts it’ll be a more familiar structure and I’ll be able to really get going.

        I’m sure your Spanish will help. Mind you, I seem to get into “foreign language mode” so I asked my wee boy about the weather by asking if it was beautiful OU cold. I used the French “or” without even thinking about it. I also don’t know how to ask the time and find myself thinking about it in French and Italian. I’m sure it’ll all come.

      • Green-eyed girl February 14, 2012 at 3:49 am #

        Ah well that’s a good sign 🙂 Sounds like you already have plenty of experience then! I do the same thing, substituting the wrong words sometimes. But once you know the words in Gàidhlig I bet they will come to mind instead!

  2. Oifigear Gàidhlig February 10, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    “Chan eil mi a’ tuigsinn” (Chan yell mee a’ tookshin) = I don’t understand.

    • gaelicmediummum February 10, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      Lol, thanks! At least when I feel stupid because I can’t understand a word, I can vaguely redeem myself by telling them that in Gaelic.

  3. Morag (@moragg) February 11, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    I studied Gaelic a long time ago but I’ve recently signed up to An Cùrsa Adhartais to brush up on all I’ve forgotten. Phone tutorials are difficult at times, but stick with it. It’s a good course and you’re never too old to learn!

    • gaelicmediummum February 11, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

      Difficult in what way? I’ll be emailinh you when I get stuck!

  4. Rebecca February 22, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Wow that’s amazing. I’d love to be bilingual and to be starting something new again. I loved studying. I guess it’s natural to be nervous but I’m sure you’ll be fine.

    Thanks for linking to the education showcase.

    • gaelicmediummum February 22, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      I’ve studied French & Italian at uni, though they’re rusty now and I wouldn’t say I was bilingual. I think the key thing here is that I’ll NEED Gaelic so hopefully I’ll eventually reach a greater level of fluency.

  5. Catherine Burden March 5, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    I’m jealous, I so loved going to school!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 20-02-12 Love Education Weekly Showcase - February 20, 2012

    […] this?Read more… […]

  2. Do you have to learn Gaelic if your children are in GME? « Gaelic Medium Mum - March 19, 2012

    […] the same applies to local beginners classes that I have found listed online.  Fortunately for us, I have begun An Cùrsa Inntrigidh, the course with a weekly phone tutorial and, though it is early days, so far it seems to be really […]

  3. Update « Gaelic Medium Mum - September 7, 2012

    […] have completed Earrann 1 of An Cùrsa Inntrigidh – the distance learning course from Sabhal Mòr Ostaig, and I was sent the password for […]

Leave a Reply

